Sign in to follow this  
decsnz

new member 318ti temp gauge

Hi there,

I am new to this forum and BMWs. I just got myself a 95 318ti. I have noticed that the temp gauge moves around a bit from 1/4 to 1/2 way. depending on how fast I am going. It goes down when I go faster and back to half way when going up a hill or stopped. What would cause this? The car has only done 52000ks and the engine was checked before I purchased it.

Cheers

Hey man welcome!

I'm no pro, but it just sounds like a faulty gauge, but dont take my word for it.

Have you checked radiator coolant levels??

will drop when ur going fast cause ur ramming cool air through the engine bay

test it by running ur car and let it heat up, watch it, listen to it, too see if ur fan kicks in and cools things down

hope tht it helps

Your thermostat is faulty

Thanks botanymotorworx. I have replaced the thermostat and it has fixed the issue.

I am interested though as normally when the thermostat goes it only affects how long the vehicle takes to warm up and does not affect the running temp once the vehicle is warm. Cheers

Thanks botanymotorworx. I have replaced the thermostat and it has fixed the issue.

I am interested though as normally when the thermostat goes it only affects how long the vehicle takes to warm up and does not affect the running temp once the vehicle is warm. Cheers

the thermostat is still the piece of equipment that reads the temperature and tells the gauge what to show, so if the thermostat is faulty (gives intermittent readings) then the gauge is going to flicker and do funny things.

the thermostat is still the piece of equipment that reads the temperature and tells the gauge what to show, so if the thermostat is faulty (gives intermittent readings) then the gauge is going to flicker and do funny things.

quiet noob <_<

the thermostat controls the flow of water to the radiator.