Sign in to follow this  
pureboiracer

project drift.. the m20 turbo

so. where to start?? have had a big soft spot for drifting for a long time now. and i want to get in to it properly so i started this project. i am a aprentice mechanic so money is not on my side but on the other hand i can do most of the work myself.

ive got a 1985 325i. after blowing a big hole in the side of the old engine i decided to put in my freshly rebuilt m20b25. its got new rings. re honed bores. new bearings. new seals. new valve seats. new valves new bearings. and all the standard stuff you get with a rebuild. (note as this time a turbo was not planned).

then went in the new suspension. bilstien front struts on king springs. and adjustable koni shocks in the rear with king springs. nolothane bushes ect planned soon.

the suspension complimented the brake upgrade previously done when i got the car. (evo 4 front brakes with a front rear adjustable biast).

took one of my spare diffs to work oneday and gave it the welding treatment. its not in the car yet. going to wait untill i have the cert before i put that in.

and then when i destroyed the other motor i knew i had to find a way to make lighting it up just as easy but without ringing the nuts off my new motor. thats when the turbo poped up. i researched and saw a few guys doing quite simple and not to costly set ups so i thought. why not?

now untill i have the available funds i plan to run it on the ljet system which was already in the car. it has a 323 computer. but still runs the motor quite rich so i dont see it being a real issue. to compliment the turbo i will be installing holden 5l injectors. to minimise the risk of melting my pistons. i have ripped out as much of the unnessacery stuff as i can. cold start gone. crank case recercilation gone. will be venting it to a catch can.

have already done the basic weight reduction.

managed to get myself a sharp deal on headers and a turbo.