Sign in to follow this  
318isteve

M42 Turbo

Hi there,

Not by any means building this now but i own a 318 and want to put a m42 into it with abit more go, forced induction seems to be thhe way to go. im after about 250-300 horsepower..

has anyone done this?

And any reccomendations on setup? having a search on good ol' google and megasquirt, t3/4/5 turbo bigger injectors, metal gasket fuel pump etc should get me there but im still abit lost.

im only a student so a dont have an open budget and have looked down the 2.5 swap but if i did this i would have to replace my suspension, struts and brakes etc so cost will end up being similar anyway so why not go for something less common.

lots and lots of questions, any help would be appreciated guys cheers! :D

have looked down the 2.5 swap but if i did this i would have to replace my suspension, struts and brakes etc so cost will end up being similar anyway so why not go for something less common.

lots and lots of questions, any help would be appreciated guys cheers! :D

You'd still have to replace the brakes/suspension etc .... 250-300 horsepower is the same no matter which engine it comes from!

Does no one ever search? Andrew had one.

Actually that's a bit harsh - the problem is that the search engine on the site ignores three letter searches, which is extremely friggin annoying when BMW uses 3 digit engine codes...

http://www.bimmersport.co.nz/forums/index....43&hl=turbo

http://www.bimmersport.co.nz/forums/index....07&hl=turbo

http://www.bimmersport.co.nz/forums/index....94&hl=turbo

Will cost heaps. All turbo conversions cost what you think they will cost, multiplied by 2. It's strange - even you try and do it cheap, it will cost cheap x2. If you try to do it right, it will still cost 2x the higher number...

250-300 will need forged internals and standalone=big dollars

Just get a m50/m52 first

250-300 will need forged internals and standalone=big dollars

Just get a m50/m52 first

No, just no.