Sign in to follow this  
bravo

Friendly discussion about Jags

When I was about 13 I really wanted an XJ6. Went off them as I got older once I realised they were probably something your grandad would drive.

I havn't rated Jag as a brand since then until today when I was at a mates place and her Mum has an S Type. Looked the biz sitting in the drive, and it has a 220kw 4.2L v8!

Yeah it's auto, yeah the interior is more plastic than I'd expect from Jag, but when I went on Trademe to have a look you can pick up a 2002 model with less than 50,000kms for just over 20 grand!!!!! Higher kms ones are only asking $16k!!!!

I won't be buying one, but wanted to open Jaguar up for discussion as a brand.

So discuss.....

Guest Simon*

I wanted an XJ6 as a kid too, but yeah went further and further off them the more I heard. Had a mate who was a die-hard fan - he became a very poor but very good self-taught mechanic ;)

As a side note, I've seen a lot of the brand spanking new flagship sedans around (model name escapes me)but with the new grill etc, they don't look like Jags at all - very Lexus'y

As a side note, I've seen a lot of the brand spanking new flagship sedans around (model name escapes me)but with the new grill etc, they don't look like Jags at all - very Lexus'y

Thats the XF I think and the first time I saw one I thought it was a mazda 6 :(

My uncle had an V12 and it was stunning. Always breaking down mind you but it was beautiful to drive. Ive also driven the supercharged XKR and that was just phenominal. I see one in CHC for 20k at the moment too.

More a fan of the mid nineties supercharged XJR myself.

Posted Image

Up until the new XF the XJ has been the only recent Jag I rate as a real Jag, the rest is just ford rubbish with crappy retro detailing.

Guest Simon*

Thats the XF I think and the first time I saw one I thought it was a mazda 6 :(

Yeah XF that's it

Posted Image

XJC series 2. Quite possibly the most gorgeous car ever built.