Sign in to follow this  
tigermoth

m50 TURBO

hey guys

im in the middle of a turbo conversion for e36 320i, got turbo manifold and down pipe made for top mount etc, just about to sort out the fuel issue, got hold of sum 325cc m3 injectors, FPR and walbro 600HP pump. heads been skimed and valves replaced along with a new MLS gasket and APR head studs.

1) is there anyone that has had experience with turbo m50's

2) any issues and problems you've incounted etc

3) and tuning, decided to go with a piggyback ecu but is there anyone in the country that has experience in tuning bmw's?

im new to this so if you guys could point me in the right direction or give me some pointers

cheers rich

3) and tuning, decided to go with a piggyback ecu but is there anyone in the country that has experience in tuning bmw's?

Can the piggyback control spark (retarding under boost)?

Which city are you in?

Edited by CamB

If you're in Aucks, see Gavin Bellars at Hi-Velocity on the Shore, best there is.

Most descent performance tuners should be able to tune your BMW.. My tuner said he will have no trouble but has to start from scratch with the LINK as there is no basemaps available for bimmers..

Luke

in wgtn, ...Silver Fox...i take it urve had experience with hi velocity. how were they?

being in wgtn, ive looked at "the chequed flag" and "speedtech" and altho they kno there sh*t, non of them have had experience with bmw's, mayb im just being a lil padantic about it.as for timing under boost, the piggyback ecu's ahve no prob altho no one can answer weither the VANOS can be adjusted with the piggyback ecu or will i still have to run it off the standard ecu

Gavin's very good, #14, Paul Olson may be able to put you onto someone in Windytoon.

Edited by Silver Fox

If its piggyback why does it need to control vanos? Won't the existing computer still do it?