Sign in to follow this  
BrianE39

Muffler delete (straight pipe)

hey everyone im a newbie lol just got my brother's E39 1999 528i Blue and wodering if i can cut off my rear muffler (still have resonator) n get a straight pipe :D is this legal in NZ or do i hav to get like fake BIG Bore n make it looks like it has a muffler in the back LOL??? any ideas guyz???

got some chip on youtube:

n found some of other bmw forum talkin about this:

http://forums.bimmerforums.com/forum/showt...d.php?t=1066928

Gotta luv the BMW straight 6 engine sound with straight pipe xD

No way, It will be way to loud..

If you want $50 'loud exhaust' fines accompanied by 25 demerit points, Go ahead lol.

Also keen on a straight pipe, would imagine it is legal aslong as it is under the legal limit.

Edit: Which as John said could be difficult.. lol.

Edited by E30ONP

Exactly, It's all about the noise restriction. They couldn't really care less what your exhaust is so long as it's sticking out the rear doing it's job. IMO it will be way to loud.

Need a massive oil cooler with huge braided lines to go with those!

dam...i thought it would work lol

whts legal limite ae?? like 90 db or something ??

but i heard about this on other bimmer forum that someone said it not gona be too load as it still has resonator in the back??

btw how about i change to the one on trademe 3" or 2" european style muffler?? will it be too load aswell??

Edited by BrianE39

dam...i thought it would work lol

whts legal limite ae?? like 90 db or something ??

btw how about i change to the one on trademe 3" or 2" european style muffler?? will it be too load aswell??

Nah they aren't too loud, I have a trademe muffler it was quite abit louder than standard (Had to change mid section muffler to a bigger COBY), but it was probably just within the limits as VTNZ never hit me up about it at WOF's.

Just whatever you do, don't get a fart cannon..