Sign in to follow this  
Creaver

540iA -> 540iM + rear subframe bushes

Yes, you read the title correctly. I am converting my 540i automatic to 6 speed manual! (with the help of some onto it mates)

Sure, it's no 540iS, but considering the rarity and price they fetch I figured i'd do second best.

I'm not good at taking photos, nor am I good at show casing what I'm doing...but figured i'd do my best and show you guys how i'm getting along.

post-2030-1269244455.jpg

First the exhaust comes off (it's not how I wanted as I stuffed up muffler choice and ended up doing this...)

post-2030-1269244374.jpg

Driveshaft removed

post-2030-1269244381.jpg

Have had the powerflex bushes for AGES and never got around to installing them. Bought the trailing arm bushes from AKG Motorsport.

post-2030-1269244447.jpg

Rear subframe out and trailing arms removed

post-2030-1269244389.jpg

post-2030-1269244348.jpg

post-2030-1269244359.jpg

post-2030-1269244367.jpg

Diff detached from rear subframe. The subframe and trailing arms are currently with my mate who is pressing the old ones out at his work.

post-2030-1269244439.jpg

Picture of the beast of an auto trans soon to be removed

post-2030-1269244418.jpg

Crappy as photo...but she's tight!

post-2030-1269244424.jpg

Automatic shifter/trim removed

post-2030-1269244432.jpg

And this weekend all going well will have the auto trans out :) I have read the difference in weight between a 6speed 540i and the auto version is about 100kg!

Cheers,

Ian :D

Good stuff mate. Hope you have strong arms to hold that trans up when it comes down!

Awesome Ian.

If I kept my 540i I would have done what you are doing.

My rear sub frame bushes where STUFFED.

Aside from that though, fantastic plan to do the manual conversion!

Are you using a genuine BMW bell housing and gearbox? Any ideas of the total cost..

Yuss, this is going to be one of my favourites!

The inevitable question - where'd you get the manual box from?

Win as Ian.