Sign in to follow this  
sam726

Just Bought A Run Down BMW (1977 525)

Hey guys,

I've just joined this forum after buying a run down bmw. In terms of BMW's I've owned an e36 320i Coupe but have also had a 7th Gen Galant VR4 and my current daily driver, a 1989 Toyota Chaser.

So anyway down to the main subject, I have just bought an extremely run down 1977 BMW 525 for $260. I'm aware these dont have the best resale value so over the coming weeks and months im going to be slowly bring it back up to scratch to get it back on the road on the cheap (as im a student aswell), as at the moment its on hold and hasn't been used for more than two years, has been sitting in a field. The car is a manual, has tan leather interior and there is definitely rust repair to be had. The engine runs, but not 100% well and the engine bay is covered in spiders etc. The interior is extremely dirty and filled with cobwebs and spiders, as is the boot. The body is in ok shape, the paints quite dull, wheel trims are screwed and there is surface rust to be done on the bonnet and around the sunroof.

I've stuck a few pictures below of it coming off the trailer and just after the first quick clean, in the pictures the cars still wet so while it looks nice and shiny it will go back to dull once it dries off, hopefully something a darn good cut and polish can fix it im lucky.

I'd love to know what you guys think and whether it has any potential haha.

post-5845-1277181786.jpg

post-5845-1277181971.jpg

post-5845-1277181978.jpg

post-5845-1277181982.jpg

Edited by Sam G

The best part of this thread is the look on your face.

Nah but really looks like a cool as project man, the paint looks half decenish for its age, it would be a lot of fun polishing it up and getting the bitch to shine again. Let me know if you need some polishing tips.. but maybe tend to those spiders first...

The best part of this thread is the look on your face.