Sign in to follow this  
qwertyk1d

New engine build - Thoughts?

So I've been thinking about the best engine transplant to do to my E30 - I'm still relatively new to BMWs and the best options when it comes to engine and drivetrain. What would a good viable option? Currently running a 1600cc 4 cyl.

I have a large time frame to build, I'll probably build it out of the car on a stand.

Edited by Skeet

What is your budget? Pretty much anything will go in an e30 if you are willing to pay.

As mentioned above work out your budget then at least that will eliminate a few options, it'll depend on how much work you want to do as well

Put a rotor in it, that's something different :P

• Like 1

I dunno really I was just planning on adding to it as I went. I want something mid range in power and nothing that needs to much modification to fit. Not really sure what a realistic budget would be. (Just to be slightly vague lol)

You could follow the well published M5x route, M52B28 would deliver the best all round package for the money. Given that you're starting with a 316 you'll need to factor in suspension and brake upgrades if you want it to be safe & legal. Speak to Ray or Brent for a conversion package (engine, ecu, loom & trans), they'll be able to give you a realistic idea on pricing. You'll probably need a custom exhaust fabricated to suit, too.

If you used a conservative estimate of say, $2500 for a complete drivetrain package, $500 - $1000 for the exhaust fab, $xxxx for a reasonable suspension upgrade to match the increased weight in the engine bay, cert costs, bigger rubber and probably wheels to put your newfound power to the road, $300 - $1200 for the right diff.............................

Even with an M52, the cost could easily break 5 figures. If you were to use an S50B30 you can add at least another 4k to the 2.5k for the 2.8. 1UZ / M60 conversions would easily cost the same by the time the custom engineering is taken into account.