Sign in to follow this  
Tyler Anderson

E30 Touring

The project begins. I am new to BMWs so this is also a learning exercise for me but the idea is always to do it once and do it right.

1993 E30 Touring

photos to come soon.

the car appears to have had a hard life, but the good news is no rust and someone has done the conversion from a 1.6l to the 2.5 with matching gearbox.

The Goal is to create a very clean resto and appropriately modified car

the pant and interior are a mess but that will come later, for now its service time and focusing on getting it driving nice.

my experience with the car so far has been driving around auckland for a few days then the trip home to New Plymouth.

issues that need addressing so far.

• rubbish exhaust sound, drones under 110kmh, sounds good at high rpm however.
  • no sway bars at all? is that normal? car is nice and low but handles terribly.
  • rear diff noisey, i would like a LSD

If anyone has good information and contacts for these please let me know.

also will be wanting a leather interior for it.

• Like 1

Looking forward to this! Im also from New Plymouth, with a touring project, hope to see you round sometime.

^Touring's are different, due to weight they have the bigger front struts and sway bars in the rear, where as sedan/coupe only 325i's had them in the rear.

Good luck finding leather interior! The rear seats are literally impossible to come by.

yup best to retrim the ones you got etc.

Cabby and touring have all the same suspension and brakes etc underneath, regardless of engine type. Unlike sedan and coupe which are dependant on engine etc.

looking forward to some pictures!!

Blair, is Jase still in the scene or has he gone backwards?

yup best to retrim the ones you got etc.

Cabby and touring have all the same suspension and brakes etc underneath, regardless of engine type. Unlike sedan and coupe which are dependant on engine etc.

looking forward to some pictures!!