Sign in to follow this  
325_driver

Brake Fluid Question - Taking my calipers off

So i'm looking to add a few HP by taking my calipers off to paint them, and i thought i would clarify a few things

1. Jamming something up against the brake pedal - does that actually stop the fluid from draining out the lines? I've never done it before, and don't want to clamp brake lines. Want to avoid having to do the ABS bleed procedure from taking calipers off.

2. Brake fluid - it's just a daily driver, I have some penrite Super Dot 4, will that suffice to top up the reservoir when i bleed the lines ? If there are specific BMW specifications that need  to be met, I can't seem to find them.

Cheers

Brake fluid will come out when you remove the calipers.

No matter what you do you will need to bleed the brakes if you disconnect the caliper.

Another option is to remove the caliper from the rotor, but leave the brake hose connected, and paint them on the car. Just mask up the surrounding areas.

@zero i know brake fluid is coming out, i'm talking about stopping it  continually draining through the lines from the reservoir 

i heard pushing the pedal in is a trick to stopping it from emptying the rest of the system

just never done it before

I use a rubber glove palm stretched over the top of the res and a rubber band around it to seal it. This creates a vacuum in the system to stop it completely draining (the cap has a vent so won't do the same). 

Just clamp the lines though. You don't need to hulk clamp them, just get the plastic clamps that look like big scissors and you'll be fine. 

I got brass brake caps for lines and calipers but as above i just use varying brake clamps most of the time

@KwS thats a good idea. I have a box of latex gloves I could use. Thanks for that !

If I took the pistons out of the calipers do I need a tool to put them back in? Or can they be pressed back in easily enough.

Just Making sure I don't get stuck half way through the task lol