Sign in to follow this  
350chevy

E39 Jap Radio \ Central locking

Hi, New owner in Wellington of a dark blue 1999 E39 525i and love it.

(Has the builtin TV, Nav)

Question 1). Is there any way you can change the radio frequency from the standard Jap settings to NZ. I was told this could be done without a band expander and just by reprogramming the radio itself

Question 2). When I brought the car, the central locking did not work. The car dealer told me the keys only last 5-6 years and would need replacing. I am a computer engineer and got our service dept to check and replace the batteries, the lights on both keys now work. I also tried to re sync keys using instructions I found on this site. Still no go. The car dealer then told my wife that the car battery had gone dead flat and remained this way for a month & replaced it with a new one just before we brought it.

Would this have anything to do with it? I also found another blog that mentioned the Fuel lock is the same circuit and to check the fuse, this appears OK? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Great people, great site!!

Steve

Welcome Steve, good to have another e39er here.

I'm sure Hotwire or Jochen can help you with your questions :)

Welcome Steve, good to have another e39er here.

I'm sure Hotwire or Jochen can help you with your questions :)

Nice to be part of a cool site!!

I have an update on the central locking issue. Ended up taking my car to Amsterdam Cars Ltd in Lower Hutt, Very helpful guys, but were unable to assist. Ended up taking it to Jeff Gray BMW. Guy was good and did not charge. Turns out I was resetting the code correctly, just pointing the key in the wrong direction. I pointed the key to the motor while re-setting the code and you have to point the key at the Revision Mirror where the pick up Sensor is located while re=programming.

So only question one remains un-answered for. I am a very happy chappie!

Edited by stevensp