Sign in to follow this  
jonomayo

E30 318i

Hey

Im looking for a E30 for a daily drive as I am a student. I dont mind if its a 318 really as I think too much power for someone like me wouldnt be the best idea, however I would prefer a manual.

Would this be an alright buy, ignoring the fact it is auto, for the price:

http://www.trademe.co.nz/Trade-Me-Motors/C...n-255384447.htm

I had a talk to the guy and he thinks its worth around 1-1.2k and just needs a battery to get it going enough to pass a warrent. According to carjam the rego is type X and exempt, does this mean it has it on hold and doesnt need revining or whatever the process is?

I have about $3k to spend, but the least possible for a decent one would be good. Also the location (Tauranga) is good so I dont have to travel.

Thanks for any help,

Jonathan

Edited by jonomayo

I would suggest getting this -

http://www.trademe.co.nz/Trade-Me-Motors/C...n-254589910.htm

Although the gearbox is gone if you got it for a grand then, put a new automagic box in it, or a manual one then you could have a very nice E30 320i, a little more gutsy than a 318i and plus the pre facelift 318i and 316i had the M10 engine, and lets just say its not quite as technologically advanced as the M20 like in the 320i.

And plus that one has black leather mmmmm.

Transport from Auckland is the only issue I can see. Not sure how that would work as I have to capacity to tow anything...

I've actually talked to this guy about getting this car, because I was interested in buying it, but I am heading overseas next year on a student exchange for a year, so not much point in buying.

Anyway, I believe the quote he got of $1200 was from HellBM a sponsor on here, if you talked to him or someone else on here I'm sure they wouldn't mind towing the car over to HellBM workshop maybe for a couple of boxes of beer then getting the gearbox done and then you picking it up.

Up to you really but if it were me I'd be heading down that track