Sign in to follow this  
stolen

BMW 320 WOF Problem!!!

hey i just joined up. i just went to get my wof on my e30 320 and it failed. They said the springs were too loose! Its been lowered on springs.... Wondering whether anyone can gimme some advice on how to get this sorted as cheaply as possible cos im a student and on a almost null budget!

Thanks,

stolen

either change the springs or put shortened shocks in. Cheapest option is to find some standard springs and put them back in.

I guessing that you have either cut down springs or springs that arent designed for the car. I assuming that the springs can move around when the car is jacked up

Probably the cheapest option is to get some standard springs or alternately get a correct set of lowered springs for the car.

The only other way is to limit the travel on the strut....and that is a strip down of the strut or new strut territory...expensive

i see... thanks guys... i was reading some stuff on the forums and some people have said you need shortened shocks if you have lowered with springs? Id like to keep the car lowered if possible as well....How much would i be looking at for these or where can i get some standard springs if all else fails?

Thanks!

Stolen

I assuming that the springs can move around when the car is jacked up

Yes this is what happened....

Guest Andrew

Get some spring pads for the rear. I have some you could WOF the car with - I just need them to get my WOF also hah.

That is the cheapest option.

Wreckers will have them also.

what is the deal on spring pads? Just different heights available? I assume they cant be stacked

Guest Andrew

what is the deal on spring pads? Just different heights available? I assume they cant be stacked

they are mainly there to make sure the springs aren't loud. Yes there are different heights for front and rear