Sign in to follow this  
Carl

E36 Service Reset

I'm not able to reset my service lights using the same method on my E30 which is grounding pin 7 using my little rangi reset tool (resistor wired to tiny plugs).

Just done oil, air, and fuel filters in the E30 and E36 with 4.5L and 6.5L of respective pure golden goodness and want to reset the oil lights, the E30 reset as per usual, however, ain't done the E36 before as it's my first time servicing it and after checking online it's the same pin 7 as the e30 I tried several times and failed miserably.

Not wanting to drive into Jeff Grey and pay them to do it so what's the trick?

I'm not able to reset my service lights using the same method on my E30 which is grounding pin 7 using my little rangi reset tool (resistor wired to tiny plugs).

Just done oil, air, and fuel filters in the E30 and E36 with 4.5L and 6.5L of respective pure golden goodness and want to reset the oil lights, the E30 reset as per usual, however, ain't done the E36 before as it's my first time servicing it and after checking online it's the same pin 7 as the e30 I tried several times and failed miserably.

Not wanting to drive into Jeff Grey and pay them to do it so what's the trick?

I'm sure there is a rangi way Carl.. but we wont go there we just use our scanners... sorry I cant help

BTW: Good to see you now have a hammer

Actually, can anyone confirm or deny that Jeff Grey (Welly) charge for a reset?

Actually, can anyone confirm or deny that Jeff Grey (Welly) charge for a reset?

Is there no one down there with a scanner or reset tool you can ask ? Maybe someone on here might be able to help. We charge Jo public $10 to do it. BS members free

Ring JG and ask them?I would think they would charge something

I brought a draper service reset tool for IIRC around $60 when I brought my first E36.

Well worth it if you intend on keeping the E36.

my mate has a reset tool if you don't mind doing a journey to Upper Hutt

from some online guide ....