Sign in to follow this  
ler4_war

H.I.D Headlights

Hi, I'm just new in New Zealand and decided to buy a 1995 3.16i Compact. i was Just wondering if i can install HID (High Intensity Discharge) Headlights here in New Zealand or is it illegal? Thanks. Cheers!

post-6037-1280821498.jpg

post-6037-1280821505.jpg

Yep, they're also really annoying and dangerous to other motorists.

If E36's came with factory HID's you can fit the factory HID's into your car, but I don't think they do.

Hi, I'm just new in New Zealand and decided to buy a 1995 3.16i Compact. i was Just wondering if i can install HID (High Intensity Discharge) Headlights here in New Zealand or is it illegal? Thanks. Cheers!

i want some hid's i recon then mean but how hard r they to install?

Its really rather a grey area, often dependent on the discretion of the Police (if they do pull you over) or your WOF service. Technically the E36 was never designed with the use of HID units. A mate of mine did get a fine due to installation of HID on his car and "green sticker'ed"...after he had passed on his WOF...

i want some hid's i recon then mean but how hard r they to install?

Not too hard, but some units causes electronic warning lights on the dash. What I dont like about HID and Angel Eyes is that you have to split open the headlight unit, which means if you dont seal it properly, you get moisture in there =(

From the NZTA website:

HID conversion kits (an HID bulb with a high voltage power unit or ‘ballast’ which fits into the original headlamp unit in place of the original bulb with no change to the headlamp lens, reflector or housing) are illegal on any vehicle being used on New Zealand roads.

However, a complete halogen headlamp unit can be replaced with a complete HID headlamp unit provided that the replacement headlamp unit complies with approved standards. If in doubt, get advice from a vehicle lighting retailer you trust.