Sign in to follow this  
sexy beast

E34 front suspension

Hi, im a newbie here and also loving my E34.

I know this problem exists with the bmws. How do i check what bushing(s) might be worn out to allleviate this shaking problem. A friend said its the control arm bushes. But its gone through two warrants without anyone picking this problem. And i have been ignoring the issue as i have learnt to adopt my driving and i brake earlier on to avoid the shaking. i know its pathetic but, i need to save some dollars to fix this before it gets out of hand.

Yea so would appreciate any comments/advise on how to check properly and whether it could be the control arms.

Many thanks.

Edited by sexy beast

Hi, im a newbie here and also loving my E34.

I know this problem exists with the bmws. How do i check what bushing(s) might be worn out to allleviate this shaking problem. A friend said its the control arm bushes. But its gone through two warrants without anyone picking this problem. And i have been ignoring the issue as i have learnt to adopt my driving and i brake earlier on to avoid the shaking. i know its pathetic but, i need to save some dollars to fix this before it gets out of hand.

Yea so would appreciate any comments/advise on how to check properly and whether it could be the control arms.

Many thanks.

1) make sure your wheels and tyres are very well balnced and that the wheels are a proper fit(72.5mm hub) or have the appropriate hubcentric ring for the wheels you do have.

2)Make sure you have the best two wheels on the front if you have any out of roundness issues

3)If you still have the shimmy after this it will almost certainly be the UPPER control arm bushes,they need to be replaced with ether 750 i or e34 M5 bushes. and tightened under load.

here is an excellent e34 site

Edited by kiwi535

Yep, what he said.....look for this arm here, easy to fix....mine are in need of replacement too

post-122-1310271382.jpg