Sign in to follow this  
kerry

boat's

hey all im in the market for a good fishing boat, something like a 14 foot sea nymph or the likes ive been told that i should try and find something with 60hp+ in yamaha but it doesnt seem there is much out there im new to the game so if there is any recommendations on whats best etc please feel free to help me out...

cheers kerry

how much do you want to spend and for a first boat buy alloy they take the knocks a little better.

5k is tops at the moment, i was looking at alloy but they look rather uncomfortable. cheers

I was going to do the same thing if you have a friend with a small boat go out with them for the day and see if you like it I did and it kind of satisfied the curiosity and didn't justify owning one.

That was a 14 foot Fyran alloy boat he unloaded and loaded on his own easy boat for 1 person bit small and bouncy uncomfy bloody thing, noisy little 50hp which is the minimum you want to go really I liked the buccaner elite that went before us but considerably out of my budget. like everything you get what you pay for etc and two happiest days with owning a boat are the day you buy and the day you sell lol, your call though try before you buy and if you can spend more do so as they hold their value quite well.

yea ive been out with a few mates on there little 13-14ft sea nymphs and they seem like good little boats so ive got the bug now and would much rather have my own than have to wait for a offer to go for a fish, plus i want to take the kids out on the river with a ski bisket etc...only thing im contemplating is what engine to get with it, i dont no what outboards are better than others.

You might find the cost of a good one a bit eye watering, a mate has had one since new ('84ish?), a couple of years ago a boat dealer told him it was worth about $17k.........

It's mint with a 90 Yamaha (I think) on the back. Lake use only.

Yamaha, Honda, Suzuki = All fine