Frederikplam

E30 wont pump gas

I got a e30 that won’t pump gas thru.

it only got 1 pump (the one under the car)

I changed the pump and you can hear it running when you turn the key.

all the fuel lines are new.

can it be real that I only got that one pump and not one in the tank. 

the only thing in the tank is the fuel sending unit which I can’t find a new one of anywhere.

that why am wondering if it’s a aftermarket one that’s been replaced by the original pump.

what should I try next???

I'm still pretty new to E30s. Someone who actually knows these cars could confirm.

But according to the Bentley service manual 84-87 models should have an electric transfer pump mounted in the fuel tank (haven't actually touched the fuel system yet so I'm just going off what the manual tells me).

Apparently on 88-90 models there's only a main fuel pump and that's mounted in the fuel tank.

So based on that, you shouldn't only have a sending unit in there.

Have you ever been able to drive it? Was it running prior to changing pump?

Because you have a fuel pump under the car then I'm guessing you have an 84-87 model and should have an electric transfer pump in the fuel tank.

Its a 86 model 4 Doors and i bought it like this, so i never had it started.

Can i just buy and original gas pump and put it in the tank???

its just weird because the plug with the power too the “original pump” isn’t there (if it’s actually missing the pump).

and the even weirder part is that I’ve seen the exact same system on an model 83 coupe. With the same wiring, plug and sending unit. Just without the return hose (that I got)

13 hours ago, Frederikplam said:

the only thing in the tank is the fuel sending unit which I can’t find a new one of anywhere.

Post up a picture of this, on early E30s the in tank pump and the fuel sender are on the same frame.

• Like 1

This is the setup i got, so it is original.

its number 7 i have in it.

but doesn’t have number 10 and 11