Sign in to follow this  
hybrid

Explained: Roll center

Hey guys,

Thought I might start a series of posts on suspension characteristics and the reasons why or why not things are done on a vehicle (specifically BMW 3series) I'm no expert on the topic .. I'm marely researching it myself for my own projects and thought I would post findings here.

Feel free to add to the topic with credable howtos, car setup data, FYIs.

Posted Image

Most automotive enthusiasts have heard of the term "roll center". It is a property of both front and rear automobile suspensions and determines, among other things, how far a car rolls during cornering. A roll center which moves around a lot as the suspension compresses and extends is considered undesirable, and can make a car "feel weird" to drive. A small amount of motion of the roll center in the vertical direction is tolerable, but movement of the roll center in the lateral direction is not good.

It is the location of the roll center in relation to the center of mass that governs how far one end of a car will tend to want to roll during lateral acceleration (cornering). This is called the "roll-couple". The ratio of the front roll-couple to the rear roll-couple is one of several factors that determines the tendency of a car to either oversteer or understeer.

An explanation of how the roll center and center of mass combine to form the roll-couple can be found here: "How lowering a car affects roll-couple"

http://e30m3performance.com/myths/Weight_T...t_transfer2.htm

To visualize the rear roll center you really need a picture. The digital drawings that follow are large - they need to be in order to show the detail properly. I suggest the reader have a look at the first drawing and then come back to the text:

Semi-trailing arm ROLL CENTER for a standard configuration.

Posted Image