Sign in to follow this  
*Glenn*

PC slowness "Virtual Memory"

Recently we upgraded all our computers at work, my home computer and my laptop. I've not been happy with the operating speed of any of these. Especialy my new laptop which I use for my photography. I was told to delete cookies, defrag more regularly, remove my photo collection to external hard drive etc. etc.... not happy with all of this so I went searching. I'm no computer expert at all... I pay someone to do this for me. This is what I found:

Open control panel- Systems- Advanced- Performance- Settings- Advanced- Virtual memory- change.

My first computer I found, Initial size was set to 2,500, 4,000mb under recomended size of 6464mb

I reset Minimum size to 7,000mb and Maximum to 14,000mb

Press "set" then "OK" and restart the PC

WOW!!! what a difference in operating speed & loading pages. This I first did on our diagnostic computer. And now nothing crashes on us anymore. Especially when we have diagnostic info open and operating our bluetooth scanners along with other working pages open at the same time.

I've done this to all my work computers, they were all set way below minumum recommended size, in most cases half of the recommended size.

Well... I went home and found my new laptop was set to 3,000mb minimum and the recommended size was 9,548mb, I set minimum to 10,000mb & Maximum to 20,000mb

Again.... WOW!!! what a difference, loading and changing pages. And now my Nikon Capture NX2 is instant when I make changes to a photo... no more lagg and no more virtual memory errors. I reset the home PC as well. Overall... every computer is now working as they should do. When I now click on something... it moves.. instantly.