Sign in to follow this  
master garion

is this a good alignment?

Hey chaps, I've just had an alignment done because I had the tie rods replaced. The car seems to be tracking pretty straight although I'm not too happy about the steering wheel being off-centre. Also, the measurements don't seem right per the printout.

I'm no expert so I dunno if this is a "reasonable" result. Shouldn't all the figures in the "final measurement" column be within target and hence in green, rather than red?

post-5440-1292711626.jpg

Final measurement of rear camber seems a bit odd considering how it started. Rest seem ok to me but not used to see measurements in degrees

Rear Looks totally screwed:

Rear camber is more different than before adjusted , should be within .15,

one is over 2 and the other is less than 1.

Rear toe is better but not perfect - rear toe is really important on an E 36

Front looks reasonable:

Front caster is TOO low something is WRONG here it must be 3.54 or more

Increased camber is better in NZ - fewer straight roads

i'm taking it back

How low is it? Would explain the rear camber.

I'm with 3pedals - the lack of front castor on one side suggests something needs replacing (its not adjustable).

height is standard as far as I know. so from what u guys are saying:

front castor is not adjustable, which points to something wrong with the car?

rear camber and toe is adjustable, which I'll get the shop to adjust?

cheers for your input

Somthing wrong with the car, or the technician was a monkey.

Rear camber is less than std on one side and about right on the other - suggests it is std height?

Oops - quite right. I shouldn't post while multitasking (I focused on the 2*25').

Around the centering of the steering, Theyre suppose to use a steering lock or someone in the car holding it while thet adjust the tie rod ends out. This insures a centered wheels and centered rack. Its wheel alignment 101.