Sign in to follow this  
MD13

Sub setup

Hey I'm new to amps and subs but felt like having a go at adding some bass to my system so... I bought a sub and amp off trademe on the cheap to try it out. I picked up the following:

Pioneer TS-W2502D2/D4 sub in a box Specs

Lightning Audio FF150.2 amp

So having spent a number of hours on the weekend installing this (and surprisingly it did work) I have some questions.

1. Earthing - having the battery in the boot is very handy. Should I use the batteries earthing point for the amp? I haven't at present but was wanting to know if it would be better or not.

2. Main question - the sub details states 2 voice coils with the ability to connect in parallel or serial to produce either a 2ohm or 4ohm load... Or seperate channels entirely... Looking at the manual for the amp I shouldn't be trying to drive a 2ohm sub, but I don't know if I'm supposed to use both channels to power the sub or bridge to a serial connection or what. Or should I be looking at a mono amp (expensive)?

Some help on this would be greatly appreciated! Feel free to ask questions.

Hey I'm new to amps and subs but felt like having a go at adding some bass to my system so... I bought a sub and amp off trademe on the cheap to try it out. I picked up the following:

Pioneer TS-W2502D2/D4 sub in a box Specs

Lightning Audio FF150.2 amp

So having spent a number of hours on the weekend installing this (and surprisingly it did work) I have some questions.

1. Earthing - having the battery in the boot is very handy. Should I use the batteries earthing point for the amp? I haven't at present but was wanting to know if it would be better or not.