Sign in to follow this  
Cale

My First Spinout!

Heres my yarn for the day...

On my way back from Stats exam, decide to take a detour to Pine Harbour (for those who know it) to sort a couple things out.

Finish at Pine Harbour, last LH blind corner coming up to the main road, quite sharp, but can be taken safely at 80km/h IN THE DRY.

So come up to this corner, really hungry, 3 minutes from home, going about 80km/h, ITS WET.

I then forget that it gets minimal to no sun- so its mossy from last winter, loose the back end and get into a 'drift' situation in which I have no experience, therefore I cannot hold the 'drift'. Still going 75ish (didn't/couldn't look) as I know in order to hold a 'drift' you need a skillful touch of acceleration and good countersteering skills- I only only had the former.

Since I suck, the back end contunues to come around to my right, I see the big drop to my left- where I am heading... SIDEWAYS!!! I proceed to slide down the big gravel drop on two outside wheels (inside had left ground I believe). And thank the lord I come to a big, mud spashing stop without rolling my baby.

Needless to say, it was a very bottom clenching, (almost) change your undies moment.

God I wish someone got it on video.

And before someone says I am a 'boyracer' ( :P ) or a twat- I DID NOT see the moss had crept further onto the road, and not 3 weeks ago, I drove that road for 2 years, 6 times a week as it is on the way to the gym. And when finances allow (in a looong time) I will get really good tyres, springs and shocks, once again, there is nothing wrong with my current ones, only problem was they were designed 20 years ago. 'Till then I will drive slower.

Take care and drive safe everybody.

I'm pretty sure most people have a n00b moment like that now and again. I've had mine. Doesn't make them any less stupid.