Sign in to follow this  
Lucan

New Suspension for the E30

Hey Guys, im thinking my suspension ( currently jamex springs :rolleyes: ) as a whole could do with an upgrade?

But as im a noob an all, i'd rather find out from you what i should get...etc

I've heard good things about bilstein coilovers, although i'd probably never see any track time im probaly just looking at something that performs well on the road??

Suggestions, knowledge and experiences are all welcome!!

Cheers!!

Edited by Blackie

Account for new bushes and a decent wheel alignment, new bushes would be the first thing I would look at after shocks.

On a budget I'd hit up some firmer lowering springs (like the race series King Springs) and Bilstein inserts with polyurethane bushings all round and a uprated front and maybe rear sway bar. It'd be very very fun.

^ +1. I know from current experience :D

Good if your on a 'budget' ha

Currently I have Race Series Konis in the front, Bilstein Sports in the back, with B+G springs (essentially the same as H+R springs with the same 40/45mm drop as the Race Series Springs), Nolathane Bushes all round and a 325i front and rear sway bar with Nolathane mounts. It is a blast, good bang for your bucks.

The amount I spent on that ^ in total is only slightly more than what you would spend on coilovers alone.

Edited by Forrest

+1 I've done the same thing. H&R springs, custom valved Bilstiens, Powerflex urethane bushes all round.

Should have got coil overs and uprated sway bars, but is fine with stock 325i power. Still fine with the extra go, but now on very bumpy roads its the suspension holding me back, not the power.

Ok Cheers guys!

Sounds like bilstein sports all around and H&R springs are the go?

along with new bushings, wheel balance and allignment!

Thanks for looking up those shocks Pjay..

What'd the ride difference between the bilstein and munro?