Sign in to follow this  
ntaylor90

M50 swap into 318ti - future turbo project.

Hello everyone!

As promised I said I would start a build thread for my m50 swap into my 318ti. I recently purchased a de-reged 325is that was stickered due to excessive rear quarter panel rust. It had the m50, the manual box, and also full leather interior and m-sport body kit. All in all it was a complete car that i am using for parts!

Now I'm relatively new to the whole idea of swapping an engine, but relatively confident and competent with engine knowledge and a toolbox!

I started tearing apart the m50, and am replacing every single gasket, includ new valve stem seals, new bearings for crank and cams, head bolts (ARP) and stock HG for now.

Future plans are to do a lot of aesthetic work on the 318ti, basically make it look less like the bastard child it is, and then move onto Evo pistons (85mm bore, reducing c/r as told by the incredible crunchy) and have a manifold manufactured and wire a nice dirty big turbo onto it for some fun times!

I have taken a few pics so far, and will take many more, so I will do my utmost to post them on here for all to see!

I'm very excited about this project, have always wanted to swap an engine, and it's also an awesome learning curve for me!

Regards to all,

(Don't hate the ti ;) )

Nick

Edited by flyboynick

The poor old 325is manual for parts

5wb51s.jpg

Starting to take the front off

rmthk9.jpg

Up on the jack stands and draining fluids

219xhzs.jpg

Cylinder head. A bit of carbon buildup on the valves and combustion chamber, but will clean off nicely!

dellzd.jpg

Pistons will get a good clean even though I plan on using forged evo pistons in the near future for my

Turbo build

2qdo1ex.jpg

Starting to get everything off and wiring tied to the side for now

2r23tau.jpg