Sign in to follow this  
master garion

Spun out in my E36

Hey ppl

I'm new to bimmers and RWD. Today, I spun out in my 323i E36. I was gently accelerating, turning right at an intersection. Just as I clear the intersection, i suddenly lose the rear and do a clockwise spin. Partially mounted the raised median and ended up facing the direction I came from. It was wet today but surely that's not supposed to happen especially at such low speeds? Drove home like a nana cos I've lost all my confidence in the car.

A mate reckons there could be diesel on the ground from all the trucks nearby but I dunno. Do i need better tyres? Is there something wrong with the car? Doesn't the car have traction control to prevent this from happening?

Btw, my tyres are Firestone Guardians with good tread.

Thanks

Edited by master garion

Roads were very slippery today, first decent rain for a while brings all the oil and diesel up to the top. Just need to be careful for a while till it all washes away.

how old are your tires? my tail kicked out in the wet in a similar scenario to yours, and i've only got a m40b16.

how old are your tires? my tail kicked out in the wet in a similar scenario to yours, and i've only got a m40b16.

about 3 years old

about 3 years old

and what type brand etc .

but yes will be greasy on the roads

Ha... i did too, turning right on to quay street

But im used to driving the big beast and managed to drift and control it and bring it back straight...

Got a few looks.. especially from the people in the car to my right :-)

Ha... i did too, turning right on to quay street

But im used to driving the big beast and managed to drift and control it and bring it back straight...

Got a few looks.. especially from the people in the car to my right :-)

the intersection with the shell and foodtown? that's where it happened to me! but i didn't have the skills to correct :(