Sign in to follow this  
MISS BM

E39 540i - Project Log

I have decided after a bit of a chat with a few other enthusiasts, that I should create a nice thread regarding my E39 'Project' as such. It will be very basic, and follow the work that has/will be done on her, but I am no expert in any sense, so don't expect an amazing read - I will leave that up to the professionals :D

So Monday 17th of Feb, a day after selling my much loved E38 728i, I upgraded to a 1997 540i (M62B44)
She currently has 170,000 k's sitting on the clock, but is very tidy and clean, and completely stock. I took her for a test drive, but the impulsive joy of driving a V8 Bmw with one of my many favourite motors, saw me buy it right there and then without doing the ideal thing, and getting it scanned.

Sadly, after 100ks of driving and eventually rocking on home from her purchase, she stalled dead in my drive-way without the ability to restart, so she became the very new project sitting on my front lawn.

And so the list begins! All My work is done with Ray & His Team at HellBm.

Work Completed:

- Camshaft Position Sensor replaced (18/02)

- Fuel Pump Replacement (18/02)

- Ignition Switch replacement (28/02)

Fine and well until grunty sounds from the transmission area appeared so:

- Torque Converter Reconditioned (10/03)

- Transmission Service (2 & 2 come together lol)

- Left Wheel Speed Sensor replacement

She has finally come right, but as the usual, you can never not have anything to do on a BMW, so the 'to do' list follows :D

To Do:

- Exhaust system sort out

- 02 Sensors,

- Coolant Flush

- Oil change/Service

- Coby Performance Muffler (or whatever you want to call it, fart can etc) to replace stock Mufflers

- Angel Eye Installment

- Sort out Rims, Plasti Dip current until new rims catch my eye

- Potentially Motorsport front & rear bumper (or just buy a MSport :D)

- Windows tinted to 35%

- Interior trim to be changed from the old 'wood' look to Ali look.