gjm

M-cars, in order of merit.

A Boxing Day discussion? ^_^:)

original.jpg

Not my list... Found it online. Not sure where the idea of a M6 came from - as far as I know there was only ever the M635CSi. Still...

1. M1

2. E28 M5

3. E30 M3

4. E24 M6/M635CSi

5. E39 M5

6. E46 M3

7. Z3 M Coupe

8. The M8 Prototype locked away in a vault because it was too insane for humans to actually drive (or the accountants didn't like it)

9. E34 M5

10. 1 Series M Coupe

11. E36 M3

12. E61 M5

13. E92 M3

14.-87. All others

Take a deep breath... And, discuss.

I was a little surprised at the middle order too... Positions 2, 3 & 4 I have some experience of and can understand. Is the M1 the best M-car ever? Dunno.

I suspect the E46 may have topped the E36 on the basis of outright capability - more drivers would be able to drive the E46 faster (perhaps). From what I have heard, the E36 is a better drivers car, though, and it is interesting that the M-versions have exactly the same recorded time around the 'ring (for a standard car) - 8'22". The E46 CSL was much faster.

Got me thinking though... Anyone got an E28 M5 they'd like me to look after for them?

Swap positions 1 and 3, and make the E46 M3 the CSL version and I would be pretty happy with that list.

E30 M3 was basically a road-legal race car, produced in just enough numbers to homologate the race car for Group A and DTM. The level of sales far exceeded expectations and the accountants cottoned-on to a marketing angle, and the rest went down-hill from there, in terms of the cars base purpose.

That said, modern day M-cars are capable of being daily drivers, long distance cruisers and week-end fun machines all in one which is no small achievement.

for what it is the e39 m5.broke the mould a little a 4 door 400hp sedan in 1999,still a nice daily and perhaps the ultimate road trip car ?

• Like 1

1. E30 m3

2. E46 m3 csl

3. E36 m3 S50B30

4. E28 m5

5. E39 m5

6. M1